The Airport “interrogation”

So my companion mentioned it was strange to have a stranger in a suit come chat with us in English, mention casually that he was also a member of the group supposed to meet us, be driven 100 meters?  Was that a Haitian political operative interrogating us, was it a Haitian kidnapping crew trying to decide whether we were worth their while, or what?  I don’t tend towards conspiracy theories, but it did make me wonder.  When we reached our destination, I asked one of our hosts about it.  I was particularly concerned about the possibility that someone might be trying to obtain “intelligence” through us — how remarkably silly that would be, but in light of the pendency of the Sunday elections, I just wanted to let them know.  Our host  gave me the standard lecture:  we have to be careful of strangers in Port au Prince, with which I fully concur.  But just in case, he called to confirm what had happened.  As it turned out, someone I had met on a previous trip was indeed the familiar face, and it was indeed his friend from the States who “interrogated” us, and we were indeed safe and secure the entire time.  All of the election stuff has everyone a bit on edge, including me, I guess.  But all is well.

About susanlsmithor

Mom of two great kids; water justice advocate and sustainability "guru"; law professor at Willamette teaching water, climate, energy, environmental and natural resources courses. I love time with my kids, clean water ministry, teaching, hiking, backpacking, skiing, playing golf, traveling new places, seeing old friends, trying new things, reading novels and biographies, and writing about things I care about.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment